Ubisoft Inactive Account Closure Outrage

A recent tweet from AntiDRM spotlights an email from Ubisoft warning of the impending closure of a Ubisoft account. This is in line with Ubisoft's policy, which states: "We may also close long-term inactive accounts to maintain our database. You will be notified by email if we begin the process of closing your inactive account." This has been the policy for some time, but has caused fresh uproar since coming to light again since closed accounts lose access to purchased games. A tweet from Ubisoft Support responds to the outrage, saying, "We certainly do not want you to lose access to your games or account." If this was entirely true, there wouldn't be a problem, but there are accounts they want to, or in cases dictated by the GDPR, have to close. Here's more:
Hey there. We just wanted to chime in that you can avoid the account closure by logging into your account within the 30 days (since receiving the email pictured) and selecting the Cancel Account Closure link contained in the email. We certainly do not want you to lose access to your games or account so if you have any difficulties logging in then please create a support case with us. >> ubisoft.com/help