Send News. Want a reply? Read this. More in the FAQ.   News Forum - All Forums - Mobile - PDA - RSS Headlines  RSS Headlines   Twitter  Twitter
Customize
User Settings
Styles:
LAN Parties
Upcoming one-time events:
Chicago, IL 11/17

Regularly scheduled events

User information for HorrorScope

Real Name HorrorScope   
Search for:

Sort results:   Ascending Descending
Limit results:

Nickname HorrorScope
Email Concealed by request
ICQ None given.
Description
Homepage http://
Signed On May 28, 2003, 23:35
Total Comments 6825 (Guru)
User ID 17232

User comment history
< Newer [ 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 ] Older >

News Comments > Morning Metaverse
9. Re: Morning Metaverse Mar 22, 2017, 13:45 HorrorScope

BIGtrouble77 wrote on Mar 22, 2017, 12:50:
This is total horse shit. I've been a software consultant working from home for 3 years now and I'm more productive than I've ever been. I'm not preoccupied with getting home on time to see my family, I don't have a commute to deal with and I'm overall happier and less stressed. This translates in me getting more immersed in my work and actually enjoying it.

A lot of what you just said is about your personal productivity and not the companies, they don't care about your commute, they will care a little about your stress, but you have to professionally manage that for survival. Also your job is different than marketing as described, I can see how in person synergies being useful with marketing teams. What IBM is doing isn't new and the more successful competitors are describing why they want the people in-house. I'm not saying they are right or wrong, but it is their call and 19 quarters south, yes it sucks because it is change.

You next part, yes I would not make a blanket statement that remote workers are bad. Could they be? Yes. Anyone can be. You do have to be professional no doubt. There are privileges afforded, so you have to be careful.

Reply Quote Edit Delete Report