Send News. Want a reply? Read this. More in the FAQ.   News Forum - All Forums - Mobile - PDA - RSS Headlines  RSS Headlines   Twitter  Twitter
Customize
User Settings
Styles:
LAN Parties
Upcoming one-time events:

Regularly scheduled events

Op Ed

PennLive.com - Gamefly - Buyer Be Aware.
"I can't recommend Gamefly to anyone. It is a great concept but if I pay $23 a month, I want a guarantee that I will get 2 games at a time which is what I would be paying for. I had 16 games in my queue and they had none of those titles available, despite most of them being marked as 'High Availability.' It is entirely possible that you could pay $23 and receive nothing for an entire month and Gamefly will still charge you. They will claim your titles were unavailable and as they promise nothing, you will be unable to legally dispute the charges."

View
13 Replies. 1 pages. Viewing page 1.
< Newer [ 1 ] Older >

13. Re: Op Ed Feb 23, 2009, 20:24 House

I've been using GameFly for almost 5 years and don't have many complaints. The turnaround time is usually 4 days for me, but it used to be only 2 days when I lived downtown, closer to our central post office.

If there's a new game coming out, and it's at the top of my queue, I always get it mailed to me on the day it came out. If something has recently come out, and it's popular, it's true that it'll take a while to get it mailed to me. I usually plan ahead before games or released, or else I just rent other stuff until the games I want become more available.

Their purchase prices are very reasonable. I bought GTA IV on the day it came out (so it was essentially new) and only paid $45 for it. Looking at my account history, I've bought 14 games from them, most for $10-$15.