Send News. Want a reply? Read this. More in the FAQ.   News Forum - All Forums - Mobile - PDA - RSS Headlines  RSS Headlines   Twitter  Twitter
Customize
User Settings
Styles:
LAN Parties
Upcoming one-time events:

Regularly scheduled events

KOTOR Turns 10

The BioWare Blog announces that today is the tenth anniversary of Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic, the cortically acclaimed role-playing game. They celebrate the occasion with some wallpapers and reminiscences about the project from some of its developers. There's also word about this on the Star Wars: The Old Republic website and they also have a developer blog detailing KOTOR's influence on the MMORPG.

View
22 Replies. 2 pages. Viewing page 1.
< Newer [ 1 2 ] Older >

22. Re: KOTOR Turns 10 Jul 16, 2013, 11:03 RollinThundr

InBlack wrote on Jul 16, 2013, 04:07:
CrushBug wrote on Jul 15, 2013, 20:02:
For me, I had just finished my first game at BioWare, MDK2 PC. I was a Line Producer, an entry-level position, recently created at BioWare. The then-Lead Programmer, Cam, called me into his office to tell me some news that most of the company didn't know yet. He said:

"We just got a license to do a new game. What is your favorite movie?"
"Star Wars," I answered quickly.
"We are doing a Star Wars game."
"Get the @#%& out of here!"

What a ride...

Great game, wonderfully executed. Its too bad that Bioware never reached those heights again (Dragon Age came close though). I hope your studio recovers some of its mojo and starts making quality RPGs once again (not holding my breath though). Best of luck to you regardless.

I'd say DA:Origins was at that point. Doubtful they can ever get there again however what with their decisions to remove role playing choices from their RPG's. Be it little or no equipment customizations, or "story choices" that ultimately play out the same way regardless of your choices.