Send News. Want a reply? Read this. More in the FAQ.   News Forum - All Forums - Mobile - PDA - RSS Headlines  RSS Headlines   Twitter  Twitter
Customize
User Settings
Styles:
LAN Parties
Upcoming one-time events:

Regularly scheduled events

Legal Briefs

View
12 Replies. 1 pages. Viewing page 1.
< Newer [ 1 ] Older >

12. Re: Legal Briefs Jul 8, 2010, 08:34 Bill Borre

It reminds me of that Star Wars RTS that came out years ago where one of the Empire's troopers states "I'm a soldier not a murderer." I wonder if that distinction is still relevant for the American military or if they're all Waffen SS now with none of the wermacht left.  
Reply Quote Edit Delete Report

11. Re: Legal Briefs Jul 8, 2010, 01:27 derelict koan

Cutter wrote on Jul 7, 2010, 15:56:
Because there's a disconnect with the technology. And let's face it, if most of these grunts were smart/educated enough to question the morality of their actions their would have been no war in Iraq in the first place.

So true, I remember when they were first deciding to tee-off on Iraq, our Prime Minister took up the mantra of 'blame me, not the soldiers, blame me,' for months. God forbid the dimwits signing up for the turkey shoot have to be responsible for comprehending the fine print of their career choice.

www.derelictkoan.com - speculative psychosis in trilogy form

10. Re: Legal Briefs Jul 7, 2010, 18:53 Bill Borre

The military is a strange organization. It's supposed to have rules, and yet we hear so much of this. They say it's your Duty to obey orders, but how can one have a duty to murder unarmed people? I think these soldiers could learn more about the concept of Duty by watching a performance of Antigone then by watching the American media.  

9. Re: Legal Briefs Jul 7, 2010, 18:05 Tom

This is what you get when stupid people play video games and then join the military.  

8. Re: Legal Briefs Jul 7, 2010, 16:39 Bill Borre