Send News. Want a reply? Read this. More in the FAQ.   News Forum - All Forums - Mobile - PDA - RSS Headlines  RSS Headlines   Twitter  Twitter
Customize
User Settings
Styles:
LAN Parties
Upcoming one-time events:

Regularly scheduled events

Morning Tech Bits

View
9 Replies. 1 pages. Viewing page 1.
< Newer [ 1 ] Older >

9. Re: Morning Tech Bits Feb 23, 2010, 21:05 xXBatmanXx

I graduated with comp sci in 2001. Got a job as a DB programmer right out of university, been there ever since. My role's changed a bit. I make .NET apps now. I make pretty good money doing what I do for a relatively low stress job and never have to work overtime. So I wouldn't quite say it's "laughable". While no profession is absolutely secure, there are worse than this one.

Surprised you have landed and kept a job in that market post y2k. I assume your starting pay was a hell of a lot less than the graduating year before you, or you had an internship or something similar with the company you worked for.

Know a lot of people that got F'd while in college during the y2k bit. Glad I was already working. Pre y2k, 100k+ starting was normal, plus bonuses, etc. Post y2k, that dropped to 40-50k starting.

Buy from GreenManGaming? Use this, we both get $2.00 - http://www.greenmangaming.com/?gmgr=purutuwi
Reply Quote Edit Delete Report

8. Re: Morning Tech Bits Feb 23, 2010, 09:52 Bundy

I graduated with comp sci in 2001. Got a job as a DB programmer right out of university, been there ever since. My role's changed a bit. I make .NET apps now. I make pretty good money doing what I do for a relatively low stress job and never have to work overtime. So I wouldn't quite say it's "laughable". While no profession is absolutely secure, there are worse than this one.  

7. Re: Morning Tech Bits Feb 22, 2010, 20:49 xXBatmanXx

Want a job? Get a computer science degree.

Laughable at best.

Buy from GreenManGaming? Use this, we both get $2.00 - http://www.greenmangaming.com/?gmgr=purutuwi