Send News. Want a reply? Read this. More in the FAQ.   News Forum - All Forums - Mobile - PDA - RSS Headlines  RSS Headlines   Twitter  Twitter
Customize
User Settings
Styles:
LAN Parties
Upcoming one-time events:

Regularly scheduled events

User information for John Prezioso

Real Name John Prezioso   
Search for:

Sort results:   Ascending Descending
Limit results:

Nickname Prez
Email prezjj@gmail.com
ICQ None given.
Description
Homepage http://
Signed On May 24, 2003, 03:25
Total Comments 12835 (Ninja)
User ID 17185

User comment history
< Newer [ 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 ] Older >

News Comments > Tomb Raider "Exceeded Profit Expectations"
27. Re: Tomb Raider Mar 7, 2014, 15:59 Prez

...as if they invested heavily and only achieved average sales then it can be deemed a disappointment.

I'm not an industry expert or a development guru but I still feel qualified to say that if the numbers that Tomb Raider has pulled in are a disappointment or can be considered "average" I'm pretty sure that either:

A. They invested WAY TOO HEAVILY. I mean if 6 million sales can be even remotely disappointing...

B. Their expectations were so ridiculously unrealistic that they'd be better off listening to a Magic 8-Ball than the projections of in-house "experts".

Don't get me wrong; I get the point that publisher expectations and developer expectations may not always line up, but for anyone to publicly complain that millions of sales in the first few weeks is somehow disappointing comes across as painfully clueless, thus the overall reaction.

“The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated.”
- Mahatma Gandhi
Reply Quote Edit Delete Report

15. Re: Tomb Raider Mar 7, 2014, 12:38 Prez

Jivaro wrote on Mar 7, 2014, 09:49: