Send News. Want a reply? Read this. More in the FAQ.   News Forum - All Forums - Mobile - PDA - RSS Headlines  RSS Headlines   Twitter  Twitter
Customize
User Settings
Styles:
LAN Parties
Upcoming one-time events:

Regularly scheduled events

Report this Comment
Use this form to report the selected comment to the moderators. Reporting should generally be used only if the comment breaks forum rules.

3. Re: Morning Safety Dance Feb 12, 2013, 21:04 Asmo

Even if the argument for a link was plausible, testing for it is impossible... Imo, the link is not plausible. I have been playing games with varying degrees of violence since about 1982-ish and I've never so much as raised my hand to my wife let alone been convicted of a violent act... But to accurately test this, they would need to do the same sort of testing that you would on whether or not breast feeding creates a smarter person.

eg. From birth to a certain age, expose the person to games etc but keep them exclusively non violent. Measure the persons aggressive tendencies. Wind back time and repeat the exact same sequence (same breakfast every day, parents do the same things) except expose them to violent media and games. Compare results.

ie. impossible.

The far more plausible explanation is that people with violent tendencies are attracted to violent media/games.

Everything points to "violent personalities are attracted to violence" and yet people keep trying to say that violent material creates violent people. Further, regular people who are non-violent may also like violent material purely because of escapism. We don't want to be violent throughout our lives, but we enjoy violence in our entertainment precisely because we can differentiate between the fantasy and the reality.